In Appreciation Of Older Mothers

A doumentary on lateish last night looked at the trend for women way past the menopause to have babies by means of IVF.

I can’t say I have ever been wildly enthusiastic about this being a great believer in letting nature take its course. Having watched the show however I can see there is a lot to be said in favour of motherhood for women having babies in their late fifties or even sixties.

The programme showed an affluent businesswoman aged sixty-one breast feeding. When the office phone rang she was able to put her baby on the floor, pick up the phone and a notepad and deal with the call without interrupting the child’s feed.

There’s a positive side to everything.

Rubber Baby Syndrome

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “In Appreciation Of Older Mothers”

  1. loiswakeman Says:

    Snort! I once entered a science (sorry) competition to propose novel uses for silly putty. I suggested breast implants for older women, but didn’t get a reply. I wonder why?

    • ianrthorpe Says:

      Hey I like science really, hving had a career in computers in which I spent long periods inn the nuclear industry, the electricity generation industry and with BP Chemicals. Its idiots who try to pass off bullshit as science that annoy me.

      Love your idea for a novel use for silly putty πŸ˜€

      • loiswakeman Says:

        My Pa worked at the BP research centre in Sunbury for many years as a synthetic chemist (did you ever come across Bretherick’s handbook? – that was him). I have met 3 people locally who worked there or at Hull, and several virtual acquaintances likewise. 6 degrees of separation and all that.

      • ianrthorpe Says:

        No, I spent more time with IBM & DEC network equipment manuals, the CCITT and DARPANET standards specifications and stuff like that. The chemistry side was fascinating but there was not really time to get deeply into it.

        The Nuclear business was different because there is quite a lot of advanced physics and even quantum theory in the way magnetic media and communications systems work. But all the people I worked with in those fields described themselves by their speciality.

        The modern generation seem to think saying “I’m a scientist” and spouting a lot of statistics qualifies them as an expert in all fields of science.

        I know better than most how nuclear reactions work but it does not make me a nuclear physicist.

      • loiswakeman Says:

        Ah yes – the OSI 7 layer model – I remember it well (actually, that is a lie as I have forgotten most of it now, just like the periodic table).

        The same is true of arty farty types. I once got cornered by a pompous painter at a party, and he announced in lofty tones “I am An Artist” – to which I was tempted to say “No you bloody well aren’t mate – artistry is in the eye of the beholder”. But being a weed, I just sipped my warm white wine and said “Oh, really?” with feigned interest.

      • ianrthorpe Says:

        I hate the arty farties as much as the boy scientists. These types just don’t live in the real world.

        Many moons ago my poetry readings were sponsored by The Poetry Society. One of their northern associates used to come along and after I’d been well recieved (cos I was funny and sometimes thought provoking) he’d always nab me and start telling me I should write about my felings, my issues. One night I had been on with an impromptu band insted of my Yamaha beat box and had gone down really well. I was very pumped up afterwards. Idiot – boy comes up and said in that monotone they all use “It isn’t enough to be popular, I want to hear you give us some insight into your life.” TWAT, I was popoulart because I gave the audience insight into their lives.

        Anyway he pushed it and as I can tell you are a sensitive person Lois I will not describe what happened next. Let’s just say there was blood and it wasn’t mine.

        I’m not a weed, although I’m short I’m built like a brick shithouse. Consider my revenge shared with you.

        I did not do any more sponsored readings πŸ˜€

  2. loveslifeloveschocolate Says:

    Lol πŸ˜€

  3. xvcx Says:

    louboutinThe world’s top luxury brands.sexy,gorgeous,fun.
    Yves Saint Lauretfor a woman,Exudes a fatal attraction
    Manolo BlahnikNoble,Elegant,Charming
    Louis VuittonChanelGucciCoachHerve Leger Dressall in there.
    http://www.fendsell.com
    http://www.grownproducts.com
    HemerMBTPradaLanvinUGG TallBalmainMiuMiu
    UGG MiniMelissaUGG CardyEd HardyUGG ShortTory BurchJimmy ChooFerragamo
    Christian Louboutin BootsChristian Louboutin PumpsChristian Louboutin SandalsMarc Jacobs
    UGG bagDior HommeUGG KidsJuicy CoutureMichael Kors
    Christian Louboutin Wedges Bottega VenetaGiuseppe ZanottiAlexander McQueen

  4. otemoyan2010 Says:

    http://oppao.net/n-ona/

    We’re not bastards but one link only, OK

  5. technomist Says:

    Lol πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

